First-Time DUI Attorney in Fort Collins, Colorado

Driving under the influence (DUI) is treated very seriously in Colorado and carries some stiff penalties, even when it’s your first offense. Being charged with first-time DUI can trigger a whirlwind of emotions, including fear, frustration, and embarrassment. That’s why what you’re going through right now may be some of the worst experiences of your life. We get it.  

A DUI conviction can leave a permanent mark on your record, disrupting your career, threatening your driving privileges, and affecting your future opportunities. In Colorado, DUI convictions stay on your criminal history forever and cannot be removed. But don’t want to wait until it’s too late to do anything about it, as there might be a way to reduce the impact of first-time DUI charges on your record and minimize penalties.  

Right now, the most important thing is avoiding a conviction, and our attorney at The Leier Law Office LLC may be able to help you with that. Our first-time DUI attorney in Fort Collins, Colorado, can devise a defense strategy to secure the most favorable outcome possible in your case.  

First-Time DUIs in Colorado

DUI or "driving under the influence" in Colorado refers to operating a motor vehicle while substantially impaired by alcohol, drugs, or illegal substances. According to the Colorado Department of Transportation (DOT), an adult driver can face DUI charges when their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least 0.08 or more or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) charges if their BAC is between 0.05 and 0.08.

Penalties for First-Time DUI in Colorado

Colorado has very strict impaired driving laws and harsh penalties to punish drivers convicted of DUIs. A first-time DUI in Colorado is a misdemeanor that carries the following penalties: 


  • Between five days to one year in jail, a mandatory minimum of 10 days jail is required if the BAC is above .20

  • A fine of up to $1,000 (this amount doesn’t include additional administrative and court fees as well as treatment program costs) 

  • 12 months to two years of probation 

  • Between 48-96 hours of community service 

  • Driver’s license revocation

  • Alcohol education and therapy classes 

  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) 

Protect Your Freedom

Call Us Now 

As mentioned earlier, Colorado law distinguishes between DUI and DWAI as two separate offenses. The above-mentioned penalties apply to first-time DUIs (BAC level of 0.08% or higher). As for first-time DWAI (BAC level of between 0.05% and 0.08%), the penalties include:  

  • Between two and 180 days in jail 

  • A fine from $200 to $500 

  • Up to two years of probation 

  • Between 24 and 48 hours of community service 

  • No automatic license suspension 

  • 8 points added to the driving record 

A DUI conviction, regardless of the BAC level, is also associated with severe collateral consequences. In Colorado, any DUI conviction becomes a permanent criminal record that cannot be sealed or expunged and can lead to limited job opportunities and increased auto insurance rates.  

Yes, a DUI conviction can become a punishment that keeps on punishing you long after you have paid the fines, completed probation and community service, and gotten your license back. Given the severity of punishment, you might want to do everything you can to avoid a DUI conviction in the first place. Our Fort Collins first-time DUI attorney at The Leier Law Office LLC can review your situation and help you understand the defense options that may be available to you.  

How Can a Colorado First-Time DUI Defense Attorney Help?

Kent J. Leier is a former prosecutor who has prosecuted thousands of DUI cases. He has seen firsthand what having inadequate representation or being unrepresented can do to a defendant’s life. Today, he devotes 100% of his practice to defending those accused of criminal offenses, including DUIs. Our attorney has a proven track record of success achieving favorable results for clients by offering his strategic guidance and unparalleled advocacy.  

We conduct in-depth investigations to identify deficiencies in the prosecution's case against people facing first-time DUI charges and develop a defense strategy based on:  

  • No reasonable suspicion to stop your vehicle

  • Improper breath and/or blood testing procedures 

  • No probable cause for an arrest

  • Faulty field sobriety test results 

This is a non-exhaustive list of possible defenses in DUI cases. We strive to zealously represent our clients’ interests at every turn to make them feel confident about their future because our clients deserve nothing but a vigorous defense.  

At The Leier Law Office LLC, we understand the stress and uncertainty that accompany first-time DUI charges. As a full-service criminal defense law firm located in Fort Collins, Colorado, we are committed to providing each client with the hard work and dedication they can count on. Contact us today to enlist the strong representation you deserve.  

First-Time DUI Attorney in Fort Collins, Colorado

Our Fort Collins first-time DUI lawyer takes pride in being the recipient of the AV Preeminent peer review rating, a prestigious distinction awarded to less than 5% of U.S. lawyers. We offer 24/7 assistance to clients because we know that most DUI arrests occur between 11 pm and 4 am, and we don’t want to miss your call when you are at your most vulnerable and least protected state. Reach out today to schedule a free consultation and tell us your story.